Client Requests Overview
Canopy's client requests allow you to securely request and receive information and documents from your client from within your engagement workflow. Send and receive as many requests as you need.
Schedule automatic reminder emails, comment on the information your client sends you, and track the progress of each requests.
Create & Send Client Requests
You can access client requests by opening an existing client engagement, or by creating a new one.
Click on "Client Requests" on the left side navigation of the engagement to view all your requests for that engagement.
There are 4 different stages of client requests:
- Draft Requests
- In Progress
- Needs Review
Draft requests will appear once you create your first request.
Click on "New Request" to get started.
All requests are automatically saved and given an 'Draft' status. Give your request a title, due date, description, and schedule automatic email reminders for your client.
Send one request
You can send your request right away by clicking 'Send Now'.
If your client has not been invited to Canopy and you want to send them a request, you'll be prompted to invite them to Canopy by entering their email address.
Your client will receive the following email once you send the request.
Send multiple requests in a batch
If you decide to send your requests later, you can send all your requests in one batch. Your client will only receive one email with the title of each request in the body of the email.
Client Request Reminders
The following email reminder frequencies are available for each request:
- Every weekday
- Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday
- Every Tuesday, Thursday
- Every Monday
Client reminders can last for:
- 15 days
- 30 days
- 45 days
- 60 days
Below is the message your client will receive for each reminder (your name and your client's name will be in the email).
Your client will not be inundated with reminder emails if they have multiple requests In Progress. All reminder emails are batched.
Example: You schedule three requests that have a Monday, Wednesday, Friday reminder schedule, and two that have a Tuesday, Thursday reminder schedule. Your client will only receive one reminder email on Monday asking to complete the three requests. Your client will not receive three separate emails. On Tuesday, your client will only receive one reminder email to complete the two requests that have reminders scheduled for Tuesday and Thursday.
Stop Automatic Reminders
Client reminders will stop when:
- A client marks a request as complete (which actually doesn't complete the request. It simply changes the status to Needs Review)
- The request status is moved from In Progress to Needs Review or Completed
- The duration of the reminder schedule expires
- You remove the reminder schedule
Your client also has the ability to 'snooze' reminders until the following Monday. Each reminder email has a link to snooze (pause) reminders.
Example: Your client is receiving reminders to complete multiple requests. On Wednesday, your client snoozes reminders by clicking on the link in the reminder email. Regardless of the reminder schedule and the amount of In Progress requests, your client will not receive another reminder email until the following Monday. If the request status isn't updated to Needs Review or Completed and the reminder duration has not expired before the following Monday, your client will begin to receive reminder emails again the following Monday.
Client Request Comments
Both you and your client are able to comment on sent requests. Comments cannot be made on unsent requests.
If your client uploads a file or leaves a text comment on a request, you will be notified (via email) of the new comment. Requests with any unread comments will have a green message icon with a bold request title.
Once the message is read, the message icon will turn grey and the title will no longer be bold. Your client's experience is the same as yours if you leave them a comment.
Comments can be deleted and edited, but only by the comment creator.
Client Request Statuses
Unsent: These requests are not visible to your client. You cannot assign a different status to these requests until they are sent. These do not show up on the Engagement Dashboard or Engagement Summary.
In Progress: Once you send a client request it's automatically marked as In Progress, and your client is notified via email of the new request. These requests are visible to your client in the client portal. Your client will receive reminder emails for In Progress requests.
Needs Review:These requests are visible to your client in the client portal, and are labeled as In Review in the portal. Your client will not receive reminder emails for requests that are in this status. If you change a request from Needs Review back to In Progress, your client will automatically be notified of the change.
Completed: These requests are available in the client portal but they are not front and center like the others. Your client will need to filter by completed requests to see them. Your client will not receive reminder emails for requests that are completed. If you change a request form completed to In Progress, your client will automatically be notified of the change.
Client Portal View of Requests
Your client's experience with requests is very similar to yours, just a little watered down.
When your client logs in they'll see all their incomplete requests on the Home view. New requests and request In Review are labeled so your client clearly knows what request they need to work on. In Review means the client has marked a request as complete or you changed the status to Needs Review, and you need to decide whether it's actually complete.
Once you feel the request is actually complete, you need to change the status from Needs Review to Complete. That will remove the request from your client's incomplete list, and add it to completed.
When your client opens a request for the first time there will be two helpful hints that explain how to mark a request as complete, how to upload a file, and how to make a comment. Your client will only see this message once.
You will be notified when a request is marked complete by your client.
If your client marks the request as complete by accident, they can uncheck the box and moved back to In Progress. Canopy waits a few minutes before notifying you of the status change just in case your client accidentally checks it as completed and quickly unchecked it.
Viewing all Client Request
Just like steps, client requests are visible across all your clients from the Engagement Dashboard. You can also see the the status of your requests for a single client from the Engagement Summary page.